

AMA gives first speakers' awards

The 17 winners in the first annual AMA Physician Speaker Competition were honored last month during the National Leadership Conference. The contest, started to stimulate better physician communications to both the public and profession, drew more than 100 entries that were judged by a panel of communications experts.

There were winners in each of seven categories, with cash awards to the sponsoring medical societies consisting of first place, \$1,000; second, \$500; and third, \$250. Short film and audio clips of the first-place winners were presented. The winning physicians (listed first through third) and their sponsoring organizations were:

Testimony — Malcolm Scamahorn, MD, Indiana State Medical Assn.; Russell Rowell, MD, Massachusetts Medical Society; Jules Masserman, MD, American Psychiatric Assn.

Professional audience - Theodore

Castele, MD, Academy of Medicine of Cleveland, Ohio; Roy Guyther, MD, Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland; Ross Musgrave, MD, American Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons.

Public audience — Hector Rodriquez, MD,

Rules available

Ground rules for the 1979 AMA Physician Speaker Competition are now available from the AMA. Contact Mort Enright, director, speakers and leadership programs, AMA headquarters, (312) 751-6452. Enright's department also conducts speakers training seminars and provides consultation on the establishment of a speakers bureau.

Harris County Medical Society; Robert Burton, MD, Michigan State Medical Society; no third place.

Radio talk show — A three-way tie for first between Alan Blum, MD, Resident Physicians Section; Michael Levis, MD, Allegheny County (Pa.) Medical Society; Henry Vinicor, MD, Medical Society of the County of St. Lawrence (N.Y.).

Radio news show — Raymond Donovan Jr., Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland; Alan Blum, MD, Resident Physicians Section; no third place.

Television talk show — Reginald Stambaugh, MD, Palm Beach County (Fla.) Medical Society; R. Wendell Coffelt, MD, American Academy of Pediatrics; Elizabeth Neal, MD, Santa Clara County (Calif.) Medical Society.

Television news — Jack Schreiber; MD, Mahoning County (Ohio) Medical Society; Theodore Castele, MD, Academy of Medicine of Cleveland (Ohio); Robert Pressman, MD, Philadelphia County (Pa.) Medical Society.